Stephenson Area Public Schools Organizational Special Board Meeting – January 6, 2025

Special board meeting of the Board of Education of the Stephenson Area Public Schools was called to order by Vice President Barb Zahorik at 6:00 p.m. on January 6, 2025.

Scott Marcoe called the roll with Matthew Ives, Lance Johnson, Scott Marcoe, Adam Olson, Natalie Winkler, Barb Zahorik and Superintendent Susanne Carpenter present. Don Cugini absent. Barb Zahorik declared a quorum present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Board

This meeting is a meeting of the Board of Education in public for the purpose of conducting the School District's business and is not to be considered a public community meeting. There is a time for public participation during the meeting as indicated in the agenda."

Guest/Public Comment – NA Guidelines are printed on the backside of the agenda

Motion Number: 2025-01 Motion by A. Olson second S. Marcoe to approve the agenda as presented. Carried 7-0

Motion Number: 2025-02 Floor open for office of the President, Don Cugini nominated by Adam Olson as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-N, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-N Vote 4-2

Any other nominations for office of the President, Barb Zahorik nominated by Scott Marcoe as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-N, Lance Johnson-N, Scott Marcoe-Y, Adam Olson-N, Natalie Winkler-N, Barb Zahorik-Y Vote 2-4

Motion by A. Olson second by M. Ives to nominate Don Cugini nominated by Adam Olson as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-N, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-N Carried 4-2

Motion Number: 2025-03 Floor open for office of the Vice President, Adam Olson nominated by Natalie Winkler as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Vice President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-N, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-N Vote 4-2

Any other nominations for office of the Vice President, Barb Zahorik nominated by Scott Marcoe as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Vice President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-N, Lance Johnson-N, Scott Marcoe-Y, Adam Olson-N, Natalie Winkler-N, Barb Zahorik-N Vote 1-5

Motion by S. Marcoe second by Winkler nominated by Adam Olson as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Vice President for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-N, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-N Carried 4-2

Motion Number: 2025-04 Floor open for office of the Secretary, Matthew Ives nominated by Natalie Winkler as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Secretary for the 2025 year.

Motion by L. Johnson second by N. Winkler to nominate Matthew Ives nominated by Natalie Winkler as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Secretary for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-Y, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-Y Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-05 Floor open for office of the Treasurer, Natalie Winkler nominated by Matthew Ives as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Treasurer for the 2025 year. Motion by N. Winkler second by L. Johnson to nominate Natalie Winkler nominated by Matt Ives as Stephenson Area Public Schools Board of Education Treasurer for the 2025 year. Roll Call Don Cugini-AB, Matthew Ives-Y, Lance Johnson-Y, Scott Marcoe-Y, Adam Olson-Y, Natalie Winkler-Y, Barb Zahorik-Y Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-06 Motion by S. Marcoe second by L. Johnson to approve Renea Oskwarek as the person in the district responsible for posting all notices of board/committee meetings for 2025 as outlined in the Stephenson Area Public Schools Board Policy. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-07 Motion by S. Marcoe second by N. Winkler to approve that the board approve Thrun Law Firm as the district attorney for the 2025 calendar year. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-08 Motion by M. Ives second by L. Johnson to approve Renea Oskwarek as the person to keep meeting minutes and records for the 2025 calendar year. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-09 Motion by S. Marcoe second by N. Winkler to designate Superintendent Carpenter as the Electronic Transfer Officer as outlined in policy 6144 in conjunction with the district required signatory of three individuals for 2025 calendar year. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-10 Motion by S. Marcoe second by L. Johnson to continue to utilize Nicolet as the depository for the General Fund Account, Food Service Account, 3% Account, Sinking Fund Account and Student Activity. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-11 Motion by N. Winkler second by S. Marcoe to approve Signatory's be approved and any previous Signatory document be dissolved. Carried 6-0

Motion Number: 2025-12 Motion by S. Marcoe second by N. Winkler adjourn at 6:25 p.m. Carried 6-0

Next Committee as a Whole Meeting: Monday February 10, 2025 at 6:00 p.m. in the SHS Library

Next Regular Board Meeting: Monday January 20, 2025 at 6:00 p.m. in the SHS Library

CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that the above is a true copy of the proposed minutes of an Organizational Special Board meeting held on January 6^{th} , 2025 and that said proposed minutes have been available to the public at the address designated on the posted public notice of said hearing from and after the 20th day of January, 2025.

Secretary, Matthew Ives